We’ll overcome

I have watched your face cringe
At the sight of me
I have heard you say you hate me
The nights have refused to go
Darkness blankets our lives
Suffocating us
In the depths of its palms
So all we do is fight,
Fighting ourselves
Because we’re too frightened
To step outside and face our tragedy

I have watched your doubts grow
Fuelled by absence of affection
In words I say
The black soot of doom
Encapsulated the promises I made
I couldn’t keep them anymore

We’ve morphed into new beings
Oblivious of what love means
Can’t we coexist even in hate?
This bull-matador affair
We’ll leave us bruised

I want to touch a part of you
The scariest parts you’ve always
Concealed with a fake smile
I want to feel them
These parts you’ve never introduced me to
They might as well love the stranger

My dear, can’t we stop worrying?
Whatever happens
Or fails to happen
We belong to us
We can weather the storm
And still be warm with love
There are still parts of me that ache
From prickles in every word you said
But, I still believe
That …
Miracles are wrapped in darkness